Skip to main content


Showing posts from November, 2018

As the LPGA World Turns

The 2018 LPGA season ended a couple of weeks ago, but that hasn't stopped that tour from being in the headlines.

There have been several major announcements in the past few days. Here is a recap:

American International Group (AIG) Has Signed on to Sponsor the Women's British Open for the Next Five Years. AGI will take over from Ricoh who ended its sponsorship this year after a twelve year run. The championship will now be known as the "AIG Women's British Open."

Lancaster Country Club Has Been Selected by the USGA to Host the 2024 U.S. Women's Open Championship. The tournament will be held May 27 - June 2. The tournament was held there in 2015 when In Gee Chun edged out Amy Yang by one stroke. “The 2015 U.S. Women’s Open was one of the most successful in the championship’s history,” said Mike Davis, CEO of the USGA. “The golf course is one of the best in the United States, and the community’s support for golf is record-setting. We can’t wait to return to crown…

Rating the 2018 Rookies - Final Analysis

Let me start off by saying that 2018 was not a very strong year for LPGA rookies when compared to other rookie seasons this past decade. When looking over the rookie roster last January (before the 2018 season started), this much was obvious.
Jin Young Ko was the obvious favorite to win rookie honors. She had already won as a non member on the LPGA Tour, and was a ten time winner on the KLPGA.Georgia Hall was the only player who might give Ko a bit of competition for top rookie.Nanna Koertz Madsen and Hannah Green both tore up the Symetra Tour in 2017, winning three times each.Emma Talley, Yu Liu, and Rebecca Artis, appeared to be the "best of the rest", but were certainly not a sure thing. As it turned out there weren't many big surprises and even players listed above failed to produce.

There were thirty rookies on the LPGA Tour in 2018, and only seven of those players managed to retain their 2019 LPGA playing privileges based on their 2018 tournament results. A finish i…

LPGA 2018 Year In Review

The year 2018 was a very exciting year for the LPGA tour. There were a record number of first time winners. There were rookie winners. There were winners from several different countries. There were several tournaments that needed extra holes to determine the winner. There were 5 different major championship winners that came from 5 different countries. There were two pairs of sisters that each recorded victories. All in all it was one of the most interesting seasons ever. Let's take a peek:

There were nine players who won their first LPGA tournament:
Pernilla Lindberg - ANA InspirationMoriya Jutanugarn - HUGEL-JTBC OpenAnnie Park - ShopRite LPGA ClassicNasa Hataoka - Walmart NW Arkansas Championship and Toto Japan ClassicThidapa Suwannapura - Marathon ClassicGeorgia Hall - Ricoh Women's British OpenMarina Alex - Cambia Portland ClassicNelly Korda - Swinging Skirts LPGA Taiwan ClassicGabby Lopez - Blue Bay LPGA Note: Jin Young Ko's victory is not included in the above count…

Lexi Thompson & Ariya Jutanugarn Big Winners at CME Group Tour Championship

Let me start out today by congratulating Lexi Thompson for winning the CME Group Tour Championship. This one was easy. Lexi started the final round with a three stroke lead over runner-up Nelly Korda and never looked back. Her final round two under par 70, was good enough for a four stroke win.

Thompson was certainly not the only big winner as Ariya Jutanugarn won the Race to the CME Globe, and the $1 million bonus that comes with it. Ariya's final round six under par 66, was the day's lowest round.

Ariya became the first player in LPGA history to capture all of the season's major awards:
She won the Rolex Player of the Year award and the Hall of Fame point that comes with it.She won the Vare Trophy and the Hall of Fame point that comes with it.She won the official LPGA money title.She won the Rolex Annika Major award.She won the $1 million Race to the CME Globe. It was a banner year for Jutanugarn who accumulated six Hall of Fame points on the season. One each for her 3 win…

CME Group Tour Championship Preview, Pairings, and Much More

I want to start off today by congratulating Gabby Lopez for winning the Blue Bay LPGA. Gabby played the final round in a threesome with the number 1 and number 2 players in the world (Ariya Jutanugarn and Sung Hyun Park), and came away victorious. It was a see-saw battle until Gabby birdied the 11th, 13th, 14th, and 16th holes, to take a four shot advantage. Ariya made it close by birdying the final two holes, but it was too little too late. For Gabby it was her first win on the LPGA tour. It was also the first win by a Mexican player since Lorena Ochoa.

This week the LPGA returns to the United States for the playing of the CME Group Tour Championship. Many of you may remember last year's exciting finish when Ariya Jutanugarn finished one stroke ahead of both Lexi Thompson and Jessica Korda. Lexi Thompson hung on to win the 1 million dollar bonus.

This will be tournament #32 of 32 on this year's LPGA schedule.

Here are the key details: Course:  Tiburon Golf Club Location:  Naples…

Blue Bay LPGA Preview, Pairings, and More

Let me start out today by congratulating Nasa Hataoka for winning the Toto Japan Classic. Nasa's final round of 5 under par 67 was good enough to finish 2 strokes better than runner-ups Momiko Ueda, Carlotta Ciganda, and Saki Nagamine. For Nasa it was her second LPGA win this year.

This week the LPGA heads back to China for the playing of the Blue Bay LPGA. Many of my readers may remember last year's exciting finish when Shanshan Feng came out on top by one stroke over Moriya Jutanugarn.

This will be tournament #31 of 32 on this year's LPGA schedule, and fifth of five events on the current LPGA Asian swing.

Here are the key details:
Course:  Jian Lake Blue Bay Golf Course
Location:  Hainan Island, China
Defending Champion:  Shanshan Feng
Winning Score:  69-67-73-70 = 279 (-9)

Final Field:  81 players
Par:  36/36 = 72
Yardage:  6,675
Purse:  $2,100,000

This tournament will have a Wednesday start (with the time difference it will be Tuesday night in the USA) and finish up on Saturday.