Sunday, April 7, 2013

Inbee Park Eases Her Way to Kraft Nabisco Championship Victory

Inbee Park

Before the 2013 season started I posted my top 30  predictions for LPGA Player of the Year.
My pick as winner was none other than Inbee Park. Inbee is making me look very good now, winning her second tournament already this year.

Inbee won this season's first major championship quite easily, with a 4 stroke victory over So Yeon Ryu.
The issue was never in doubt. Starting the day with a 3 stroke lead over Lizette Salas, and a 6 stroke lead over six other golfers, Inbee put an end to this championship very early. Inbee birdied the first hole while Salas would record a double bogey, and the three stroke lead became six very quickly. From there on in everyone else would be playing for second place. The only question was how many strokes ahead of the field she would be when she jumped into Poppie's Pond.

Inbee would finish with a 3 under par 69 for the day, which left her 15 under for the tournament.
Lizette Salas would falter, shooting a 79, which would leave her in a tie for 25th place.

The lowest round of the day, and of the entire tournament, belonged to Ryu who would finish in the runner up position. Ryu's super round still never got her into contention, as Inbee was rolling in long putts all day long.

Inbee's winning check of  $300,000 will move her into second place, behind only Stacy Lewis.

Other Tidbits:
It was not a surprise that Lydia Ko's two under par total would win her top amateur honors. What was a surprise was the the 73-73-71-72 =289, shot by Stephanie Meadow. Stephanie, a University of Alabama Junior, would grab that runner up spot.

Defending Champion Sun Young Yoo missed her third consecutive cut of the season.
Brittany Lincicome and Jennifer Song also missed the cut for the third straight time.

Beatriz Recari made her 39th consecutive cut. Only Karrie Webb (50), Paula Creamer (48), and Jiyai Shin (42), have a longer streak.

Titleholders Update:
Caroline Hedwall, Suzann Pettersen, and Haiji Kang are the latest to qualify.

Everyone be sure to answer the player of the year poll at the top left of this blog.

No comments:

Post a Comment